My First Hacktoberfest Experience

I know it’s a little late to share my Hacktoberfest experience (2022).

I can hear some of you saying, “A little late? Seriously, dude?”

But, you know what they say,

🎶 It’s never too late to turn things around

Recover and unravel the path to confound…🎶

So, here we go:

It was almost the end of September and I was scrolling through my Twitter and found this one tweet that said, “Yo! Guys, are you all prepared for Hacktoberfest 2022?”. And I was like what the hell is that. So I googled everything about it, became the Sherlock Holmes🕵️(Hehe) and found out that we can actually contribute to the projects we love which eventually improves our coding skills (Btw , I am a Noob coder and I know very little about coding (: ) . And the best part about this contest/challenge is that its for literally everyone who wants to make a contribution in the open source world. As there is no-code contributions too which involves contribution that do not include coding like documentations and stuffs. If you are not familiar with what Hacktoberfest is, it is an event that takes place annually and encourages participation in open source projects. Participation can involve both code and no-code contributions. And if you’re still wondering what that means, go become Sherlock Holmes.

So, I put on my developer cap (noob cap) and went to do my first pull request. When I registered for the challenge and created my GitHub account …. I was like bro I know nothing about Git and GitHub, also how to make a contribution 🥲. So, I spent around 7–10 days on learning how to contribute and about Git/GitHub. Since, I have little knowledge about coding , I thought i will make lowcode and no-code contribution this year.

The days passed by quickly as I learned more about how to make Pull Requests and contribute to open source projects. I was excited to learn more and contribute my own code to these projects. I made sure to read the contributing guidelines carefully and followed the instructions for creating a Pull Request. I was happy to receive feedback on my Pull Requests and make changes based on the feedback I received. I continued to learn more about coding and software development, and I was able to contribute more code to open source projects. I was thrilled to be able to contribute to these projects and learn more about coding and software development. Uh.. Although in my case it wasn’t literal code contribution as I have mentioned I know little about coding (:

October 2022 came to an end, and I was able to make around 15 pull requests, of which 7–8 were merged and 4 were accepted for Hacktoberfest. Contributing to open source projects was a great learning experience — I learnt about Git and GitHub, how manual commands for Git work (still a noob though), how to create issues and work on them, and how to ask for help from the community. The most important thing I learnt was the essence of open source — that it’s all about collaboration and giving back to the community.

That’s all for this blog! Thank you for reading about my first Hacktoberfest experience. Oh yeah! its my first ever blog too. It was a great opportunity to learn more about coding and software development, and to contribute to open source projects. I hope you guys too will participate in Hacktoberfest next year and make your own contributions to the open source community!

If you liked reading my blog even a little bit please do share it with your friends and be sure to leave a comment.

Until next time see ya👋